Cappuccino Cupcakes

Recently life has become very busy and I can’t complain one bit as I’m following my dream. I started my blog in October 2011 to record recipes I tried and loved and some of my own, and to try to bake more and learn more about baking. I intended it just to be for myself as I didn’t imagine anyone else would read it. I was amazed to find so many like minded people through the world of blogging and although I’d always loved baking it’s become such a passion through the inspiration I’ve found online. In February 2012 I attended my first cupcake course to learn a bit more about making my cakes look pretty to post on my blog. That started my journey in learning cake decorating and started my dream of having my own cake company. Today I’m in the middle of a very busy ‘Wedding Season’, having achieved my goal of starting a cake company and having the opportunity to make wedding cakes. It’s been a journey of crazy dreams and lots of hard work but I’m loving every minute. Sometimes it means that nothing else gets done and so my blog doesn’t get looked at but each time I come back and take a look around other people’s blogs I’m so inspired. My whole life is full of baking and cake decorating now and I love trying new recipes and ideas and I love that people pop by my blog and like my recipes too. Cakes are meant for sharing and recipes certainly are too.

So today I’m sharing these yummy cappuccino cupcakes, simple but very good.

Cappuccino CupcakesCappuccino Cupcakes

125g self raising flour
1 teaspoon cocoa powder (sieved)
125g very soft butter
125g golden caster sugar
2 medium eggs
1 tablespoon coffee granules dissolved in 1 tablespoon of hot milk
Preheat oven to 160c
Put all the ingredients together in a mixer and mix until light and fluffy, but not for more than about 45 seconds. Fill 12 cupcake cases set in a 12 hole muffin tin and bake for 20 minutes in the centre of the oven. The cupcakes should be golden brown and firm to touch and a cocktail stick should come out clean when inserted into one of the cakes. Leave to cool completely before adding topping.
The cupcakes are now ready to cover with white chocolate buttercream…
150g white chocolate
50g soft butter
200g icing sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Melt the white chocolate carefully in a bowl over a pan of boiling water or in the microwave. Allow to cool a little while beating together the butter, icing sugar and vanilla extract. Add the melted chocolate. Pipe swirls of the topping onto each cupcake.
Complete the cappuccino cupcakes by shaking some cocoa powder over the top using a sieve.
Cappuccino Cupcakes
The cappuccino cupcakes would look great served in cups as a dessert 🙂
Design

One thought on “Cappuccino Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Weekly Favorite Food Posts | Edible Reflections

Leave a Reply

