Apple and Cinnamon Cake

Apple and Cinnamon Cake

Apple and Cinnamon Cake

I love to use fresh, home grown produce and recently I’ve had lots of apples to use. Some of my other baking plans have had to be put on hold while I make everything appley. This week I used up lots of mixed apples to make an apple sauce, a lovely apple syrup and a moist and sticky apple and cinnamon cake.
I started with a bag of apples and peeled, cored and chopped them roughly and then added them to a pan with enough water to cover them. I cooked them till they were soft and then strained off the liquid. The remaining pulp just needed a little sugar added to it to make apple sauce to store in the fridge. I measured the remaining liquid and added 1/2 the equivalent in sugar – my liquid was 400ml so I added 200g sugar. I brought this mixture to a boil in a pan, stirring well to dissolve the sugar, then let it boil rapidly until it started to thicken. This makes a really gorgeous apple syrup which can be used to drizzle over cakes, desserts or ice cream or added to a drink. If you let it thicken a little more it will become a jelly once set.
I drizzled my apple syrup over a warm apple and cinnamon cake as it came out of the oven:)

If, like me you love apples you may be interested in this article by Helen Nichols of Well-Being Secrets explaining why “an apple a day keeps the doctor away”. This fascinating article discusses the scientifically backed health benefits of apples. More apple cake please.

To make Apple and Cinnamon Cake

Ingredients:-

140g Butter, softened

140g Soft Brown Sugar

2 medium Eggs, beaten

2 teaspoons Cinnamon (plus, 2 more teaspoons for the topping)

250g Self Raising Flour

3 small eating apples (or 2 medium), grated

(2 tablespoons Demerara sugar for the topping)

Method:-

Pre heat the oven to 170c and prepare a loaf tin.

Beat the soft brown sugar and butter together and add the beaten egg slowly. Fold in the flour and cinnamon and finally, the apple. Pour into the prepared tin. Mix the 2 teaspoons of cinnamon for the topping together well with the Demerara sugar and spread this over the top of the cake. Bake for between 40 – 50 minutes approximately. (Check with a skewer to see if it comes out clean.)

The cake will be golden brown with a crunchy topping and moist inside. It keeps well with the flavour improving if its left a day or two. However, I couldn’t resist serving it straight from the oven, drizzled with apple syrup and a large dollop of creamy vanilla ice cream. Heaven.

Design

 

 

Leave a Reply

